Call for Proposals

The 20th Congress of the International Musicological Society will be held in Tokyo, Japan, from Sunday, March 19, to Thursday, March 23, 2017. All musicologists and researchers in related fields (including non-members of IMS) are cordially invited to participate. Please read the information under “Submission Guidelines” before proceeding to online submission.

Categories of presentation: Proposals are invited for free papers, roundtables, and study sessions. The Program Committee seeks free papers that reflect current research as broadly as possible. Each free paper is allotted 30 minutes, with 20 minutes for presentation and 10 minutes for Q&A. Roundtables are to focus exclusively on topics relevant to the theme of the Congress (see below). The length of each roundtable is 120 minutes, including Q&A and discussion. Study sessions are more “informal” in nature, providing an opportunity for scholars to exchange ideas on the issues, methodologies, and research frameworks of a given topic while opening the discussion to all Congress participants. Preference will be given to proposals addressing the theme of the Congress from international and interdisciplinary perspectives. The length of each study session is limited to 90 minutes, including Q&A and discussion.

Languages: The official languages of the Congress will be English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Please note, however, that only proposals in English will be accepted.

Theme: The theme of the 2017 Congress is “Musicology: Theory and Practice, East and West.” For more details, please click here.

Deadlines: All proposals must be submitted online between December 1, 2015 and January 15, 2016, to be considered*. Please note that there is a significant time difference between Japan and many parts of the globe. Successful applicants will be notified by email no later than April 30, 2016. (The link of the online submission page appears at the end of the “Submission Guidelines”.)

Abstract submission is closed (Jan. 22, 2017)

Program Committee:
Daniel Chua (Co-Chair, Hong Kong)
Ryuichi Higuchi (Co-Chair, Japan)

Members in alphabetical order:
Detlef Altenburg (DE)
Lorenzo Bianconi (IT)
Anna Maria Busse Berger (US)
John Butt (UK)
Thomas Christensen (US)
Dinko Fabris (IMS President, Italy)
John Griffiths (AU)
Daniel Grimley (UK)
Gerold Gruber (AT)
Masakata Kanazawa (JP)
Frederick Lau (US)
Cathrine Massip (FR)
Matthias Schmidt (CH)
Edwin Seroussi (IL)
Yoshitaka Terada (JP)
Mirjana Veselinović-Hofman (RS)
Leonardo Waisman (AR)
Suk Won Yi (KR)